Also available in digital

What ultra niche humour has to do with online courses

Glen Long
2 min readMar 9, 2023

I have a soft spot for very niche genres of humour.

When I worked at BBC Comedy, I came across a guy who would write funny graffiti in hidden places in hotel rooms.

Like the backs of mirrors or inside the lid of the toilet cistern.

One example: “This hotel wasn’t half bad. It was all the way bad.”

Amusingly named WiFi networks is another very niche genre.

When I travelled regularly on the London Overground, a new wireless network would appear (and disappear) every few seconds.

My favourite name was “MI5 Surveillance Van 3”. (I hope that was a joke.) “Pretty fly for a wifi” is good too.

And the noble art of scrawling sarcastic messages on dirty vehicles has been around for decades.

I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve seen “Also available in white” smeared into the grime of an grubby white van.

As usual, you’re probably wondering how I’m going to connect all this with courses. Well it’s pretty simple.

“Also available in digital.”

Creating a course gives you another way to package what you already do.

And when your service is also available in digital, you can reach more people, in more places, in less time.

And that’s no joke. :-)

See you soon,

Glen

Curious about course creation? Subscribe to The Art of Course Creation or join my fun, fast-paced (and free!) class, the Online Course Sprint.

--

--

Glen Long

Surprisingly hype-free course creation mentor and trainer. Publishes The Art of Course Creation newsletter and runs the Build Your Best Course online program.